COUNCIL FUNCTIONS COMMITTEE

28 February 2017

Present: Councillor M Watkin (Chair)

Councillor D Walford (Vice-Chair)

Councillors J Johnson, N Shah, N Steele and M Turmaine

Officers: Committee and Scrutiny Support Officer (JK)

Head of Finance (Shared Services)

5 Apologies for absence/ committee membership

Councillor Dychton was absent without apologies.

6 **Disclosure of interests (if any)**

There were no disclosures of interest.

7 Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on 16 November 2016 were submitted and signed.

8 **Council Tax 2017/18**

The Committee received a report of the Head of Finance consolidating the decisions of Watford Borough Council and the two precepting bodies to give the overall Council Tax for residents of Watford for 2017/18.

The Head of Finance introduced the report, explaining that the purpose was to formally set the overall council tax for the residents of Watford. The Police and Crime Commissioner and Hertfordshire County Council had now formally set the levels of their precepts which were set out in paragraph 3.2 of the report. All the precepts had been set by the decision-making bodies.

There were no questions for the officer.

In accordance with the Local Authorities (Standing orders) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2014, a recorded vote was taken.

Those voting in favour of the resolution: Councillors J Johnson, Steele, Walford and Watkin.

Those abstaining: Councillors Shah and Turmaine.

There were no votes against the resolution.

RESOLVED -

that the Committee formally sets the total Council Tax for Watford Borough Council, which includes the precepts for Hertfordshire County Council and the Police and Crime Commissioner for Hertfordshire, as set out in the report.

Chair

The Meeting started at 6.00 pm and finished at 6.05 pm